Denice Nicholls

Hi my name is Denice and I was born and grew up in Orpington which is in the London Borough of Bromley.  Bromley is classed as Green Belt, so consider myself more of a country girl, loving the wildlife of the woodlands and fields more than the city smoke.

One of my first jobs on leaving school was as a Postwoman. I was one of the first in Bromley at the time and found myself working in a very male environment which thankfully, over the years, has changed considerably, this is where I met my husband and we’ve been together ever since. I went on from there to working as a civilian for the Metropolitan Police in the Dog Training Est at Keston where I worked with puppies from conception to one year old.  A brilliant job for a dog lover.

I then went into care, working with adults from 18 to 65 years, working for the London Borough of Bromley Social Services.   I was part of a team that set up one of the first residential houses in Bromley for adults with a Learning disability moving away from the more institutionalised hostel setting.  This, 6 bedroomed registered house catered for people needing respite, maybe a break away from their carers and vice versa and also provided emergency respite for those who found themselves in a difficult situation.  In 2022 my husband, myself and our three dogs moved to Cornwall to live.

I love walking and in the past was a keen cyclist doing the London to Brighton bike ride 8 times.  I am passionate about photography and have had exhibitions in London with a photography group called Eyelight.  I have done a variety of courses outside of work ranging from Aromatherapy to counselling.